Askemilygrace's Blog











{December 19, 2010}   I love my skin!

I’ve decided to talk about skin as well as fashion in my blog.  Thanks to PCOS and other health issues, my skin tries to rebel and have a mind of it’s own.  This is unacceptable to me.  It’s my body and should do as I say, darn it!  It’s taken me years to find the products that work for my skins needs and not react badly to my rebellious, sensitive, needy skin.  Now that I’ve finally conquered acne, I’ve got the threat of impending wrinkles to worry about.

Thanks to my lack of sunscreen while growing up in a rural part of Arizona, I’ve had years of damage (plus acne) to undo!  It wasn’t until I turned 24 and found my first wrinkle that I realized, it’s the only skin I’ve got!  I have to take good care of it because I won’t get a second chance at treating it right.

How did I choose my skin care regimen, you may ask?  It took a while to get it right just to fight the acne.  I can now proudly say it is no longer an issue when I stick to my regimen, in spite of my PCOS.

First, I searched until I felt a cleanser that worked with my skin’s ph levels.  It should feel firm, but not tight, and should be able to cleanse deeply enough for your needs.  If you wear makeup, it must clean deeply to remove the makeup.  Your skin should have a clean feeling, but no red splotchiness or irritation.  Once you’ve found your cleanser, stick with it!  It’ll take a few weeks for your skin to get used to it, so use each one for at least a month unless it causes irritation.  If you’ve found something that works, don’t be tempted to change it no matter how much your friend loves her new cleanser.  Her skin is different from yours, so don’t expect the same results.

Next, pick a moisturizer.  If your skin is dry, you’ll want something creamy.  If it’s sensitive, try a gel moisturizer.  Either way, make sure it feels like your skin can “breath”.  You’ll know that it’s working for you if there’s no irritation and after a month it feels natural on your skin and doesn’t clog your pores.

You can choose a moisturizer with sunscreen already in it, or you can choose a separate sunscreen product.  This is one I’m still working on finding a good oil free sunscreen for sensitive skin, have recommendations?  Let me know!

One trick for anti-aging is exfoliation.  I’ve recently discovered that it’s more economical and easier to just add epsom salts to my cleanser or body wash.  It’s just as effective and will last a long time, and is less likely to mess with skin’s ph levels.  Exfoliating is important for keeping skin appearing youthful and luminous!

There are other things you can do to keep your skin healthy and beautiful!  I’ll keep you updated on my discoveries as I think of them, and as always, feel free to contact me with yours as well!

-Emily

Oh noez! A wrinkle! Do you see it?! It's right *there*!!!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
